Schmidt-Burnham Log House
Come visit our c1830s log house! This unique house allows visitors to explore life as a pioneer in the 1850s. The original portion of the house remains nearly the same as when it was built in 1837. The 1917 addition showcases the Burnham family’s creativity and artistic abilities.
1140 Willow, Winnetka, IL
The Log House is open once a month on Sundays from May through October.
Hours: 1:00-4:00 p.m.
2013 open days are as follows
We do not require an admission fee, but ask for the following donation for admission:
$3 children (age 6-17)
Free to WHS members and children 5 and under
We welcome scout groups, school groups, and adult groups also. Minimum private tour fee is $50; tours last approximately one hour. Due to the size of the house, we allow a maximum of 25 visitors in one tour. Contact us for reservations.
From I94: Exit Willow Road east, travel approximately 1 mile. The house is located just past Hibbard Road on the south side of the street.
Park on Euclid to the west or on Willow Road just east of the house, in front of Crow Island School.